What a teenage chicken farmer learns

From Shelby Gebenc, in the Denver Post:

Shelby Grebenc has been raising chickens for both eggs and meat at her family’s Adams County farm. (Cyrus McCrimmon, The Denver Post)

“…Thing No. 1 that I have learned about farming: People talk a lot, but it does not mean much. I have people who want lots of eggs tell me to deliver a certain amount every week. I have to save up the eggs to do this, and then they change their minds and don’t want them.

Thing No. 2: People all say words like “farm fresh,” “sustainability,” but they don’t want to actually pay for what it actually costs me to make it. Almost everyone tries to talk me into lowering my price or asks me to give my eggs away for free.

Thing No. 3: Perception is everything. I have chickens that lay both white and brown eggs. The chickens are raised side by side. They all get the same feed, and they all run around in the same pasture together. People perceive the brown eggs are better, so I have trouble selling white eggs.

When we are at the farmers markets, if Dad is sitting with me, I don’t sell very many eggs or vegetables. If Dad is not sitting with me, I sell like crazy. Just how do the people shopping at the farmers market think that I got the great big F-350 truck that I am selling the eggs and vegetables out of down to the farmers market?

Thing No. 4: Farming takes a lot of time. I have to get up early so that I can feed and water everyone and be on the school bus by 7:50 a.m. When I get home I have to collect eggs, feed and water everyone again, and then package eggs. Then I get to do my homework….”

Read more in The Denver Post.

1 Comment

Filed under News

One response to “What a teenage chicken farmer learns

  1. Bradley Dempsey

    Due you know how to get a hold of Shelby. Send reply to dempsey9@hotmai.com

Leave a Reply

