Public vs private raw milk markets

From David E. Gumpert on the Complete Patient blog:

“I have to say that I feel funny about buying the supermarket raw milk. I am uncomfortable about the fact that I don’t know the farmer, and thus know almost nothing about the farm where the milk is produced. I can tell that the milk isn’t as high quality as my farmer-supplied milk. It doesn’t taste as good, doesn’t have as much cream, and it begins tasting sour within a week of purchase.

I also feel funny about not being as loyal a private buyer as I would like from the farmer. But I do pay a price–sometimes the farmer has milk for me, and sometimes, when I call in advance, I’m told there won’t be enough, since the regulars have to be served first. What’s fair is fair. 

Still…I highly value having the option of being able to obtain my milk from the farm or from the store. To me, the raw-milk-quality-difference isn’t unlike it is for other foods–those items produced in large quantity for supermarket distribution generally aren’t of the same quality as items only available at the farm.

I guess where I’m going with this is to agree with many of those who commented following my previous post that it’s going to be very difficult for the Raw Milk Institute to represent the needs of both the private and the public raw milk marketplaces.

My sense is that RAWMI’s founders and its board members (including this one) failed badly to anticipate the divergent requirements.

It’s not just the requirements of the large, Organic-Pastures-type dairy that operates in a highly regulated marketplace, versus the small dairy that serves herdshare members or operates under state regulations to sell directly to customers who visit the farm. It’s local versus mass market. It’s private versus public. It’s community-based versus general market. It’s unrated versus nationally standardized….”

Read it all on The Complete Patient blog.

3 Comments

Filed under News

3 responses to “Public vs private raw milk markets

  1. nedlud

    I think more ‘well-placed’ people NEED to suffer. I think they need to SUFFER from the consequences of their decisions that affect those who are not ‘well-placed’, ie., are poor.

    I think this should apply to everybody, every single one, every single bureaucrat or ‘board-member’. I don’t care what your name is or who you think you are. If you are a bureaucrat, you need to suffer from what you placed upon the poor and the lowly.

    Then, we will have peace.

    (articles like this, from an obvious ‘well-placed’ {has plenty of money, sleeps in a warm house, and plenty of conveniences} person, piss me off

    nedlud

  2. Peter

    I think it well that the essence of the “rift” in the raw milk community is coming to the fore. There are those who like government overlords, and those who like freedom. And then there are plenty of politicians who utilize “freedom” rhetoric for social agenda, and even call those who are staunch on the principles of freedom as being removed from the real world. Likely being without clear principles is more expedient in the political arena, for then selling the future for immediate gain is all the easier.

    • nedlud

      @Peter:

      Yes, indeed Peter. ‘Rifts’ are best handled by the people involved, without the use of politicians and lies. It could almost be said that lies exist because politicians exist…..

      ….another way to say it, is that politicians exist to serve the evil ones who hide in the shadows, because they (these evil ones) cannot stand the light of day, ie., the truth. A politician/bureaucrat is the ultimate coward and the necessary go-between that allows evil to triumph, repeatedly.

      nedlud

Leave a Reply

